It seems like we will finally be able to retract WhatsApp messages (kind of)! According to an updated post on the WhatsApp FAQs, WhatsApp messenger will now let you delete messages that you have already sent in a feature it’s calling “Delete for everyone”. However, you will have to be quick as you will only be able to delete the messages seven minutes after you sent it.
Yes, you can delete messages, but they are only deleted off of your device(not everyone’s devices). This enables messages to disappear from everyone’s devices.
There are a few caveats to this. In order for delete for everyone to work, everyone will have to be update to the latest version of Whatsapp. Additionally, the recipient will see an alert saying “This message was deleted”.
Delete for everyone is rolling out right now. Just update to the latest version of WhatsApp messenger. Make sure you also get anyone else to do the same.
You can also check out how to do this on Android right here.
I am all for features which allow you to retract a message which you did not intend on sending. You might have sent a message/email to someone and wanted to retract it.
However, they will see that you deleted the message (if you remember to delete it within seven minutes of sending it). As such, when sending messages or emails to anyone, you should take a few moments to think over what you are sending before hitting “send”.